Tobi Amusan, Monday Gift, Osahon to receive Sheroes top awards in Abuja

Tobi Amusan, Monday Gift, Osahon to receive Sheroes top awards in Abuja

Nigerian sensational sprinter and World record holder Tobi Amusan will on Tuesday November 8 bag 2022 Sheroes of the year award, an event expected to take place in Abuja, Nigeria’s capital.

Amusan who won gold and broke records in 100m hurdles at this year’s World Championship and Commonwealth Games is among outstanding Nigerian sports men and women selected for various categories of the Sheroes awards.

Among top Nigerian personalities also lined up for special honours is Edo State First Lady Mrs Betsy Obaseki as Sheroes Trailblazer of the year, a board member of the Nigeria Football Federation, Rt. Hon. Margaret Icheen for Sheroes Lifetime Achievement award and Managing Director of Fidelity Bank Mrs Nneka Onyeali-Ikpe – Sheroes Capital Achievement award.

A press statement issued by Ratels Sports Development Foundation (RSDF) President Barrister Paul Edeh on Sunday further disclosed that reigning African woman footballer of the year and Nigeria’s Super Falcons forward Asisat Oshoala will be crowned Sheroes African Footballer of the year.

According to the organisers, the head coach of Nigeria’s Flamingoes, Bankole Olowookere, will be presented with the Sheroes Sports Icon of the year.

Coach Olowokere led the Flamingoes who recently beat all odds to win bronze at the just concluded FIFA U17 Women’s World Cup, a feat that Nigeria was unable to attain in the past at the competition.

Other awardees are Super Falcons player Monday Gift (Sheroes Women Football Rising Star of the year), Coach Emmanuel Osahon (Sheroes Women Football Talent Developer of the year, Ruqayyah Adeboye (Sheroes Humanitarian of the year), Nelly Orisakwe (Sheroes Women Football Grassroots Coach of the year) and Ayisat Yusuf-Aromire (Sheroes Girl-Child Advocate of the year).

There is also posthumous award for late Alhaji Tewogboye Oyewole as Sheroes Pioneer of Women’s Football in Nigeria.

Of the 36 states in Nigeria, Lagos State Football Association has been picked as Sheroes Most Outstanding Women’s Football Development FA of the year in order of awards presentations categorised into three – Sheroes Exceptional Awards, Sheroes Premium Awards and Sheroes Grand Awards.

On the essence of the event, the organisers in the statement said the awards ceremony put together by RSDF since 2020 is among other things meant to acknowledge remarkable feat achieved by women as well as individuals and organisation towards the betterment of women across the globe. 

“The Sheroes Award is an annual event dedicated to celebrating and highlighting the remarkable achievements of African women globally in recognition of their outstanding successes.  It also seeks to highlight and celebrate women who have continued to leave indelible mark in the annals of our society.

“RSDF believes that the giant strides of women and their impactful contribution to humanity, incredible bravery, courage and gallantry should be honoured, celebrated and rewarded in the face of the daunting challenges they surmount daily.

“The theme for the Sheroes Award 2022 is: “This Is Our Moment – African Women Breaking Limits”. Undoubtedly, the women who will be awarded in the 2022 edition of the Sheroes Award are indeed limit breakers whose moment to be celebrated particularly their incredible success story. 

“The Awardees of the 2022 Sheroes Award were carefully selected after a rigorous screening and vetting exercise conducted by the Awards Committee. None of the Awardees were contacted before the screening and vetting process by the Committee,” the statement added.

RSDF is currently organising Sheroes Cup, a pre-season tournament mainly for clubs plying their trade at the Nigeria Women Football League (NWFL).

No fewer than eight women clubs are slugging it out at the prestigious Old Parade Ground in Abuja.

Sheroes Cup is proudly sponsored by Airtel, Jigital, Haggai Sports, Ratel Sports Development Foundation, FCT FA and The Women’s Cup.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.